ICU Sandbox

Hello Blog-O-Sphere! Do you know the phrase “Small is the new big”? This is usually used when referring to new, small computer chips that are more powerful than their larger ancestors.

In this post, I get to tell you about a LEGO Island utility I wrote that is small in size but big in power.

It’s called ICU Sandbox. This Python application l wrote in January 2013 serves a single, but singularly awesome purpose of allowing you to play and run LEGO Island from your flash drive!

To be clear, LEGO Island cannot be run from a flash drive. The game has a bunch of registry strings that stop it from running without being installed. This is like a lot of the LEGO Media video games, but unlike the select few that are enjoyed almost as much as LEGO Island but run from a flash drive. This fact has hindered me many a time from playing the game on a computer that does not have it installed.

With ICU Sandbox, however, this limitation has been removed. It works kinda like my LEGO Island Alternate Installer, but instead of being a full-fledged installation routine, it only creates the required registry strings, allowing you to store both it and the game files in your flash drive, run it on any computer you have the rights and permission to, and play LEGO Island!

But I’m not stopping yet!
-Billy Mayes

I’ve also added sandbox deletion, which removes every single trace of the registry strings, providing you with complete and absolute security. I’ve also made a custom shutdown routine. If your sandbox exists when you close ICU Sandbox, you will be asked to delete it, or leave it, the latter useful if you are going to play later.

PLEASE, DO NOT USE THIS TOOL FOR PIRACY!

I am publicly declaring that I do not support piracy, and I never will. Piracy is wrong, illegal, and can get you in big trouble. I did not create this program to support nor encourage piracy. Please use this tool for legal purposes only. If this tool somehow gets used for or is involved with piracy, I was not involved with whoever did that.

ICU Sandbox is available on my Downloads Page, and the source code is available on GitHub. I do have a newer version in the works, but it is more of an improvement then adding any new features, so there is no need to wait on it to start playing LEGO Island wherever you (legally) can!

-le717

2 thoughts on “ICU Sandbox

    1. Let’s see here… LEGO Racers (both the 1999 and 2001 releases), LEGO Racers 2, LEGO LOCO (2001 release), LEGO Software 2001 Demo CD, LEGO Island, LEGO Island 2, LEGO Indiana Jones: The Original Adventures (Wii), LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues (PC)… and I’ve had other TT Games titles in the past. However, I’m still missing a lot of the oldie games which I want so badly, but just don’t have the money to buy them. 😦 😛

Triangular Reactions

