Huh? What’cha You Say?

elloHerb verybodyeerb! owHay areay ouyay oingday odaytay? I etberb ouyerb an’tcerb nderstanduerb atewerb I am ayingserb, orrectcerb?

Hello everybody! How are you doing today? I bet you can’t understand what I am saying correct?

This post is all about translators! What I just said above (above the translation) was three sentences, the second written in Pig Latin and the other two written in Ferb Latin. The only reason I am making this post is to mention my newest (not so serious) applications, Pyg Latin Translator and Ferb Latin Translator!

Pyg Latin Translator (pronounced Pig Latin) is a Python program originally created by Kate Lockwood for a Codecademy Python PygLatin course. I choose to rewrite it because the course, due to various site issues, has never been passable, even to this day. I did my best to follow the original Codecademy course (using Python 2.7, just like they teach), but afterward I completely rewrote it using a much cleaner and better code base, and added Python 2 and 3 support.

Ferb Latin Translator is another translator I wrote, in conjunction with rioforce, to translate words to Ferb Latin. Ferb Latin is a hypothetical language from the Disney Channel Original Cartoon Phineas and Ferb. Following the language (not etiquette!) rules defined in “Ferb Latin” episode, it translates any qualifying word to Ferb Latin. This program, despite being so trivial, is actually a big milestone for me. I followed the tutorial for a basic Feet to Meters converter for Python 3 Tkinter, and I have added a complete GUI into Ferb Latin Translators. I still need to go back and follow the Tkinter course to actually know and learn what all the code does, but now I have some (although small) knowledge on using Tkinter. Now all I have to do is follow the tut, and I can start adding GUIs to my programs! 😀

The download for both translators are GitHub.

opeHerb ouyerb njoyeerb the ranatorstey!

-le717

Triangular Reactions

