Choosing an Open-source License

I am a big supporter of Open-source, just ask anyone who talks to me about programming. I open-source all my work, and recommend others do the same. In fact, only once have I not open-sourced something, and that was due to me releasing in a rush, didn’t have time to post it, and because I kinda sloppily wrote it. The next day, I cleaned it up, made a release, and made the source available.

However, open-source can be daunting, and confusing. What’s to ensure your work is not stolen, or plagiarized? How do you ensure people give you credit if they modify or use your work in something else?Placing your code under license can help, but when you go look it up, you learn there are so many to choose from! How do you know which one is best? Which is the most strict, or liberal? Suddenly open-source sounds like a bad idea.

The good guys at GitHub must have felt this way too, so they created ChooseALicense.com to help us choose the best license for our open-source project.

Image courtesy of GitHub

I won’t rehash all the details from the official announcement, but I will say I read through the site (which is open-source itself!), and found it to be very clear and informative, even helping me understand some confusion I had about some licenses.

If you need help choosing the best license for your open-source program, ChooseALicense.com is a good place to start. 🙂 For the record, I use the GPL v3 for my work. 😉

-le717

2 thoughts on “Choosing an Open-source License

  1. Ah, yes, good ol’ Github. We use that on our robotics team to open source stuff; very handy when syncing computers. They have a lot of features that can make life easier, too. Do try it!

    -The [Guy]

Triangular Reactions

