Blocks 0.9

Wait, what happened to Blocks 0.8.7-0.8.9?

I skipped them, silly. Something I very rarely do, even for single number versions. ๐Ÿ˜›

Once again, it’s time for another Blocks update. I’ve worked quickly to get this release done.

I’ve finally added the line length check into the ever growing Syntax Checker. It goes off every time your line is less than 38 characters, including spaces. So now, your levels are checked in the following order:

  • Level Size
  • Line Length
  • Valid Characters
  • Uppercase Conversion

I’ve added a limit on the number of backups made the when you save a level. It is capped at one backup. In addition, I’ve made some major improvements to the entire code structure, so it’s easier to read and written much cleaner (matters mostly if you are developer and want to read my code).

I’ve also incorporatedย RunAsAdmin into Blocks, allowing you to relaunch it with Administrator rights if you encounter that error. I’ve also drastically reworked the level reading code, allowing Blocks to reload a temporary save of your level if you encounter the error above. This means that you could mod directly out of Program Files if you wanted to.

I do have to give a great big thank you to Anonymouse for greatly helping me with the last addition by suggesting one single line. Thanks Anon! ๐Ÿ˜€

In addition (now you know why I skipped so many versions), I have implemented about half the code needed to support a New Level feature, and unlike previous releases where the little scrapes of code were not user-accessible, this time it is! When you run this release, you’ll notice the presence of a “New” button; it also has a corresponding <Ctrl> + <n>ย  keyboard shortcut. It automatically loads a blank layout, nothing but Free Tiles, making it easier to you to write your level. And when you’re done writing it, or want to save a draft, just hit the save button, and you can save your work! The dialog allows saving into both new and existing files, just go to the folder and type the filename. If you don’t use .TXT (or .txt) as the file extension, it will automatically be added for you. ;).

I did have one beta report of newly saved levels not showing up in Windows Explorer but in any other file editor, and it happening only when Blocks is not running with Administrator rights, and it doesn’t show up in any other file explorer if you save it when running as Admin; however, after that one time, I have been unable to reproduce this error. This was experienced on Windows 7 and Windows 8 x64. So, if your levels don’t show up but Blocks says they are, please report it to me. I’m not sure what I can do to fix this, but if it happens often, then I know I’ll have to do something. I think it is some bug in the Tkinter library, so I’m not sure if there is much I can do, but I can always research.

But alas, my Building With Blocks tutorial did not make it in this release. As much as I wanted it to, I just did not have to write that section like I wanted to. Don’t worry, I’ll write it, but it will happen later on. ๐Ÿ˜‰

As always, you can download Blocks 0.9 from GitHub.

Since college starts on Monday, this will be the last release of Blocks for a while unless a show-stopping bug is discovered and I have time to fix it.

Happy modding! ๐Ÿ˜€
-le717

5 thoughts on “Blocks 0.9

    1. Blocks is an Island Xtreme Stunts minigame level editor. See the GitHub repo for more info. No, this is not the program I had a draft PyQt GUI for. Eventually, I may rewrite the GUI in PyQt to fix a bug with the Text Edit and file dialog (as I talked about), but is uses Tkinter for now.

      1. No, editing editing game level files that are text files. Don’t blame me, blame Silicon Dreams. ๐Ÿ˜› Personally, I’m glad they are text files, makes modding so much easier.

Triangular Reactions

