How I Do Them… Game Recordings

This is an updated version of my previous post, How I Do Them Videos. A few things have changed since October last year, and though I haven’t been asked what I use to record lately, I figured this was a good topic to post on. You may want to read back over that, as I won’t be repeating myself, but will be referring to it. đŸ˜‰

I’ve removed half of the programs from my list, leaving only two recording programs I still use.

The Removed

Yes, I no longer use Gregion to record my games. But why, and what does this mean for my tutorial? Well, I’m not sure if Gregion even works on Windows 8 (a lot of recorders break on Win8), and considering the issues it had on Windows 7, I’m not ready nor have the time to install it on Win8 to find out. As for my tutorial, it is safe. I’m not pulling it, and if I get the chance to install it on my Windows 7 partition, I may try to update some of the images and text.

MSI Afterburner… eh, I had way too many issues with it, couldn’t get it working all too well (despite tutorials on the subject), so I’m somewhat glad I’m not using it anymore.

The Remainders

I can’t abandon my favorite screen recorder that easily. It is one of the best ways I find to record LEGO® Racers, and the 2.7 update really improved it. Furthermore, the upcoming release contains a semi-refreshed interface, AVI to MP4 conversion, and AVI 2.0 support (goodbye 2GB file size limit!). CamStudio is staying on my list for the foreseeable future. Plus, it’s open-source!

As I previously said, I bought Fraps (finally), and I use it to record my games now. I haven’t gotten as much use out of it as I want, since it doesn’t support Windows 8 completely and breaks on some of my games and the audio isn’t as crisp as it should be, but it is still good, and am glad I own it.

Well, that’s the end of this post!
-le717

Triangular Reactions

