2 Years of Triangles!

Today marks the 2nd anniversary of Triangle Land! 😀

If you’re wondering what happened to my one year anniversary post, it’s because… well, I almost forgot. Last year (2012), I was looking at my old posts on the WordPress for iOS app on the 7th of October when I came across my 6 Months of Triangles post. Only after I finished reading it did I realize the foundation event was a few days away, October 11! I began writing up a post to celebrate, but never completed it.

Quick fun fact: the post your reading is my original 1 year post draft from 2011, revised for two years. 😛

So, because I have two years of celebration to do, I will summarize the milestones for each year. I did my best to list them in chronological order, but there may be a few out of place.

Year 1: 2011-2012

  • The blog was dramatically restructured three times, creating lots of broken links for me to fix.
  • Almost every last one of my LEGO tutorials were written and rewritten, including the pioneering LEGO® Racers Custom Audio Tutorial.
  • Recording with Gregion for Dummies was published (at last, as it was one the main reasons I started this blog!) after 3 months of work, taking its place as a main staple and quickly went into revamp state, where it remains to this day.
  • The Beginners Guide to LDD to POV-Ray™ Converter was published, explaining how to quickly and simply render your LEGO® Digital Designer using POV-Ray™. It also quickly became and still is extremely popular, also entered revamp mode due to application updates, and is still in revamp mode (though I plan to update it… someday).
  • I launched my Downloads page as a link host for my April Fools Joke: Triangle Land. I choose keep it afterward as central location for downloads of my work.
  • I wrote some short stories on various subjects using different genres, to much personal enjoyment.

Year 2: 2012-2013

  • I finally started buying and receiving a few of the classic LEGO video games for playing, modding, and…
  • I began writing alternate installers for the games I owned using a script from another alternate installer to pull the files off a disc.
  • I wrote more LEGO tutorials, even getting permission to port a tutorial on preparing your LEGO Racers installation for modding.
  • I ran a week-long LEGO Knight Picture Marathon, where I posted a bunch of pictures of the head from the LEGO Minifigures Evil Knight collectable on various outfits with accompanying captions for each one, sometimes coming out pretty interesting. 😛
  • In late December, I tried the waters at programming, first writing little scripts with Inno Setup, to basic HTML and CSS after taking some Codecademy courses, and finally with Python, which I currently program in.
  • I released my first major programming project, PatchIt!, on February 20, 2013, less than a month after the initial beta. It since has become my primary programming work, spanning 6 more releases afterward (not counting the first two betas), and was overhauled almost to the point of a rewrite in version 1.1.0, with the sharp edges still being smoothed off almost two releases later.
  • With the release of PatchIt! came a new love for open-source software. To date, all published work is completely open-source, with all new and some older work published on GitHub, while really work remains on SourceForge.
  • I began writing a series of Python-related tutorials on various features and code usage that I have recently learned in my programming or been asked about.
  • I created a Code page to host links to my various programming projects, and after a large amount of entropy, I finally fixed it all up. 😛
  • I released Blocks, an Island Xtreme Stunts minigame level editor, and also my first full GUI application. In addition, I also documented the majority of the file format, and have almost finished a beginner’s guide to modding the minigame levels.
  • I bought a lot of classic LEGO video games consisting a of bunch of games I’ve wanted for a while for various reasons.
  • Clearly, a lot more events happened this year than last year. 😛
  • After a medium-ish hiatus and stagnant publishing, I completely redesigned the blog, officially calling it Triangle Land (which in times past and still is known as where I live), updating it to match my love for Python programming, but also making more like me. It reflects my personality as a complex, technical, diverse guy who has a primary interest but is also interesting in many other things. I now blog about anything I really feel like doing, and not just programming work. While the reboot did not affect blog structure, it has created a new writing and reading experience for me and my readers.
  • I wrote an alternate installer for LEGO LEGOLAND, adding it to my repository of installer, consisting of installers for LEGO Racers, LEGO Racers 2, LEGO Island, and LEGO LOCO.
  • I cowrote my first short story in a whole year, entitled Adobe Island, using LEGO Island as a setting to humorously protest the Adobe CS subscription-based (and by extension, all subscription-based) pricing plans.
  • LEGO Racers 2’s GAMEDATA.GTC archive was finally cracked, and a mere 72 hours later, I published the LEGO Racers 2 Custom Sound FX Tutorial to accompany my LEGO Racers 2 Custom Music Tutorial.
  • After nearly 8 months without a release, the LDR Importer, a script I adopted in October 2012 and posted on GitHub in January 2013, hit version 1.0 thanks to the generous contributions of Banbury.

Sorry, I had to throw a LEGO Island reference in here somewhere. 😛

Yes, it has been a productive two years for me, mainly in the past year, but productive nonetheless. But this is only the beginning!

(Play the song as you read the rest of this post. It adds feeling.)

Just as it was only the beginning of many adventures in Narina for the Pevensie children, this is only the beginning for me. Who knows where I will go from here. I am continuing my education by going to technical college and pursuing an degree in Web Site Design, and with my background knowledge in Python, I will be able to do more than I could without it.

But Jesus looked at them and said to them, “With men this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” – Matthew 19:26 (NKJV)

What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? – Romans 8:31 (NKJV)

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. – Philippians 4:13 (NKJV)

Truly this is only the beginning of an adventure for me. With God YHWH as my ally, I know that I know that I know I am a overcomer by blood of the Lamb, and I tackle anything set before me. I have a child of the Most High God, created in His image, and am fearfully and wonderfully made. Even in the low points, I can make it through.

Thus concludes this celebration post of 2 years of Triangle Land, and here’s to many more! 😀

I leave you with this song, the theme song to one of the best video games I have ever played, and was instrumental in making me who I am today. 😀

-le717

One thought on “2 Years of Triangles!

Triangular Reactions

