CTRC v1.3.0 + New Companion Website

Readers may recall me publishing a tool called Cycles Render Time Calculator (or CRTC for short) a while back. It was but a small little thing I wrote with the help of Rioforce to help us figure out approximately how long it would take to render his animations. Since then I have made minor updates to it but never really did anything with it (too many variables to create an accurate time, yada yada yada).

As you know, I am currently attending technical college and pursuing a master’s degree in web site design. Because I wanted to have a head start on some of the programming languages of the Web (and, unknown to me until earlier this month, I am taking Web Animation next semester using HTML5/CSS3/JavaScript and prior knowledge is recommended!), I have been following the JavaScript track on Codecademy (as of this writing I am 81% complete with it). As a way to help me learn how to program with JS, I ended up porting CRTC to JS and actually rewriting pretty much the entire code base, and making an HTML page to accept input (a learning project, if you will).

Once I had nearly completed that, I went back to Python and ported the new JavaScript code base to Python, and along the way improving a few areas in both versions. The result? CRTC v1.3.0 and an website experiment. ๐Ÿ˜€

As I said, both versions contain a brand new, greatly improved code base following a practice explained on Codecademy a D.R.Y (Don’t Repeat Yourself), more concise messages for input fields, and overall a nicer UX. The website does not contain the General Animation mode like the original Python version does, but it wasn’t really necessary to add. I have thoroughly tested the website across many browsers, both Desktop and Mobile, to ensure it all works. Desktop browsers work the best, with Mobile Opera and Mobile Chrome doing poorly. Apologies for the not-properly-centered text. I tried to fix it but it always came out worse, and when I went back this morning to try again, the site on which a person who suggested a fix has an error so I can’t view the chat logs. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Another major difference between the Website and the Python version is a different open-source license. While the Python version is under the GPLv3, the website is licensed under The MIT License (the first time I have used that license). Further more, I have made use of the CSS Browser Selector library, originally created by Rafael Lima and licensed under the
CC BY 2.5.

The website is hosted using GitHub Pages, which allows for static elements. Since CRTC was already on GitHub, I figured I would go ahead and make use of it to host the site.

If there are any JavaScript coders reading this (Stopsecret? :P), I’d welcome some feedback on the code. Once I finish the JavaScript track, I plan on doing the jQuery one, JSYK. ๐Ÿ˜‰

-le717

P.S. 27 DAYS UNTIL MY FIRST SEMESTER OF COLLEGE ENDS!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

5 thoughts on “CTRC v1.3.0 + New Companion Website

  1. I’m actually not really a JavaScripter, more like a UnityScripter ๐Ÿ˜›
    This could be entirely personal preference, but I would format it like this:

    //Le717โ€™s way

    if(stopsecretIsBeingTooPicky){
    ban();
    } else {
    congratulate();
    }

    //Stopsecretโ€™s way

    if(stopsecretIsBeingTooPicky)
    {
    ban();
    }
    else
    {
    congratulate();
    }

    also not sure what the }; are for, I would think simply a } would work. Then again, I’m not a real JavaScripter, and so perhaps I’m totally off. ๐Ÿ˜›
    Also, for a student of web design, if you don’t mind my saying so, the website HTML looks pretty crummy XD Not in the layout or anything, but the font and background choice.
    Maybe http://www.google.com/fonts at least? ๐Ÿ˜›
    And get Rio to make you a prettier background than B&W noise. I could even make one if you want.
    But great job with the calculator! Have you tried posting it on BlenderArtists or anything? You could make this thing popular! ๐Ÿ˜›

    -SS

    1. var stopsecretIsBeingTooPicky = true; Don’t worry, I won’t blacklist you. ๐Ÿ˜›

      A semicolon is the standard delimiter for both EOL and braces, even creating a very big ruckus when a popular project does not add one and some even saying IE balks when one is not present. Also, I was following most of the advice from http://www.jslint.com/lint.html. I actually had it more towards your way until it hurt my feelings told me to do it the other way.

      I mind. ๐Ÿ˜› Nah, it’s all good. I actually haven’t even started any site design classes yet. 1. Rio did make the background (I like the simplicity), 2. the entire code is on GitHub so you can read it in detail, 3. how’s this (sans-serif header, smaller font size, font is Arial)?

      http://www.pasteall.org/pic/show.php?id=62658

      Nah, I won’t do that. It is way too approximate and such a learning project for me to consider doing such a thing. But hey, feel free to do it if you want, just make sure I know about it so I don’t run ban("Stopsecret"); if I find out. ๐Ÿ˜›

      1. Sans serif is so much better XD But perhaps that’s just personal preference.
        See, told you I wasn’t a real JavaScripter ๐Ÿ˜›
        Generally, I don’t worry about coding conventions and all that stuff. Probably should get more into that though :/

      2. If you want to make a background, go right ahead and I’ll see how it looks. The current one is in the img folder (just go to the GitHub project). You can even download the website and test it out locally. That was sans-serif + Arial, so guess I’ll push that in a few minutes. You not into conventions… you may want to do that. That’s why I waited until your third (?) Python project on your blog (whatever number project the pathfinder is) to introduce you to PEP 8. You needed to get your feet wet in coding before you get into the conventions. Trying to follow them as soon as you start coding is like trying to run a 5K after only one 10 minute practice.

Triangular Reactions

