The future is bright for Triangle Land

Here at Triangle Land Industries, we are looking to the future! We are excited about what the future holds and optimistically seeking out the latest and greatest to benefit you! Triangle Land Industries: The future has arrived today!

And by “we” I mean myself, “Triangle Land Industries” I mean me and this blog and my projects, and by “The future has arrived today!” I mean this song. πŸ˜›


In all seriousness (albeit lighthearted seriousness, not the look-down-at-your-shoes-with-a-forlorn-expression-and-act-sorrowful seriousness, πŸ˜› ), I am excited and optimistic about what 2014 will hold for my life. Already I’m experiencing some of my future, and I am planning some new stuff for both here and in my other projects. I cannot wait to share this with you all! Let’s get started! πŸ˜€

Spiritual Matters

I have made no secret about my faith and belief in God. In fact, I have Romans 1:16 on my site index:

For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes, for the Jew first and also for the Greek. (NKJV)

The Bible teaches we are to put God first in all that we do, and once we do everything else will line up.

Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? β€œTherefore do not worry, saying, β€˜What shall we eat?’ or β€˜What shall we drink?’ or β€˜What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. – Matthew 6:30-33 (NKJV)

While here Jesus is referring to necessities like food and clothing, the Bible says elsewhere that by putting God first in all things He will bless you. So to me it is only fitting to put God first in this post. πŸ™‚

For the last few months, God has been opening my eyes and showing me how previous and current events in my life have all worked together to make me who I am right now. I already knew that everything happens for a reason, but I have never been able to piece it together under recently. Also, within the last two weeks God has sent me sort of an online pen pal. I meet him over a year ago on a forum dedicated to LEGO video game modding, and lately we’ve been talking about God (he is a fellow Christian), how He works in our lives and is concerned about all aspects. In the process, the Holy Spirit has brought back to my remembrance a prophecy over me at least 8, if not 9+ years ago, and in my spirit I feel like I am fulfilling that prophetic word. As I always do, I am asking God to give me direction for my life, but also to help me choose if I need to pursue this word spoken over me further. These last few months alone have made me even more excited about the year ahead. πŸ™‚

Collegiate Events

Moving on to college, so far the semester has been interesting, to put it one way. (Yes, I know I still have to update the widget…) This semester, my two in-class classes are Web Graphics I and Web Animation I. The former teaches how to use Photoshop CS6, while in the latter we use CSS3 animations. There are only three people in both classes counting myself, one is online in the Animation one, and one from Graphics is also in Animation! Even more, Animation is normally Adobe Flash, but since we are using CSS3 this time for the first time, even the instructor is learning how to use it, and I so far I know more about them and their usage than him! As a consolation, we will be doing a Flash project near the end of class. πŸ˜›

Triangle Land || This Blog

In JavaScript, “or” is specified using ||. Give you a bit of foreshadowing. πŸ˜›

So far, I have a few things for 2014 planned for my home here.

  • I plan on writing more tutorials, primary Python-related ones, but I may do a dual Python and JavaScript tutorial as a sporadic change. What functions and concepts I will write on I have no idea (I write primarily when I am inspired, learn something new that others should know, it is partly to help a friend, or a combination of any of these factors), but watch your follower feed for them (and if you are not following Triangle Land, you need to right now. πŸ˜› )! In addition, all tutorials are put in the Tutorials category, so you can always view that to see them too. πŸ˜‰
  • I plan on finally updating my ever-popular The Beginner’s Guide to LDD to POV-Rayβ„’ Converter tutorial for the newest version. Major updates to the program have finally slowed down, and the tutorial has not really been updated and in disarray since version 1.1. Also, I am seeing increased traffic on it (on top of the traffic it already receives), so I really need to update it now. πŸ˜›
  • I am attempting to start a new series of posts entitled Adventures in Website Design && Development. As a student of Web design and development, it is necessary I make use of what I learn both in class and at home. I also come across many tools and libraries that make coding easier or add functionality. In this new series, I will be showcasing libraries, tools, and my own work that may use what I am talking about. Sometimes all three categories will be present, on occasions only one will. I may not have actually used what I have showing off (though I usually will have), but I list it because I have found the functions it performs helpful either for others and/or myself later on. I am not committing to posting a new installment every week (or even on a set schedule), but I am planning on posting one regularly. Each post has the date published on the title and each one is added in the Adventures in Website Design && Development category, so you always quickly catch the newest one. I already have one in finalizing, a second installment in drafting with a third in organization. If you are a Web student, you will want to keep up with Adventures in Website Design && Development. As I learn and discover perhaps you can learn and discover with me. Besides, who knows, maybe you can recommend and teach me something in the process! πŸ˜€

Programming

Finally, I turn to my programming work, the various projects I have going.

  • Sunday, January 26, 2014 marked the one year anniversary of PatchIt! It certainly has come a long way since beta 1, which at that time was called LEGO Racers Mod Installer. I made it in 30 minutes, had hard coded mod details, and required 7za.exe (the standalone, command-line version of the ever-useful 7-zip) to do anything (thankfully, I fixed this by beta 2). Currently, PatchIt! is currently at v1.1.2, with v1.1.3 (working version) sitting on GitHub. I am not actively working on it right now, but I do plan on working it more hopefully soon.
  • My instructor has two Mac Minis in his classroom. The other week I was allowed to not one up. Once I did (and after multiple update installations and required reboots), I installed a copy of Python 3.3 and tested the latest release of Blocks against it using the Apple 8.5.9 Tcl/Tck packages on Mac OS X 10.7.2. Turns out, Blocks is compatible with Mac OS X! πŸ˜€

    While this does not mean I’ll be able to freeze a binary for Mac OS X nor actively test on that OS (or even that it’ll work bug-free), at least I know my careful cross-platform-consciences work has played off. πŸ™‚

“The JavaScript is strong with this one.” -Not Darth Vader

  • As Darth Vader did not say, I have been doing a large amount of JavaScript programming. Besides my Not Pong animation and work on the LUN Patcher, I have also been working on two as-of-yet unreleased projects. There are some people who has seen and tested the first, as they inspired me to write it, while only one outsider (meaning not me or rioforce) has really seen the second project. I wish I could give more details but unfortunately I am not at liberty to discuss them any further. 😦 But fear not! Once I can I will give full coverage on them. πŸ˜‰
  • I am currently writing a Brackets extension called HTML Skeleton. Although originally started as a quick way to add the required HTML tags into my document for school (and that version is available in the official Brackets Extension Registry, I am now rewriting it to allow easier additions of common but sometimes tedious tags. This occurred because of an issue opened about an easier way to add images. After hearing some comments by Brackets developers, I started rewriting completely to better accomplish its new tasks, in addition to the original purpose. I currently am fixing any outstanding issues present, and I hope to have it done in the next couple weeks. Obviously the source code is on GitHub, so you can checkout my progress on the rewrite branch.
  • Project Risen is finally complete! πŸ˜€ For those of you who do not know what that is was, Project Risen was started back in April 2012 over Easter weekend. OpenSong had just reached 2.0 beta 1, and some of the code they added was (possibly unknown to them) a work around to their buggy, outdated installer. Because I had the means to fix it, I started rewriting the entire thing to fix those bugs and overall improve it. Obviously I did not work on it straight since I started it (as displayed in the incomplete and no longer updated Creation Dates (I stopped keeping track of when I worked on it)). After it was checked into the SVN in May 2013, a broken and outdated version was used in the 2.1 RC1 release. After that happened, I was requested and granted SVN push rights to get everything working. Finally, my installer was used in the 2.1 final release and the subsequent 2.1.1 release. From now on until someone else rewrites or significantly improves it, my installer I donated to OpenSong is used in releases. After nearly two years, one of my first programming projects has reached total completion. I have to rewrite my compiling documentation due to them accidentally being lost in the recent OpenSong.org update, but that is not too big of a deal. You can catch some of the early development progress in the Project Risen YouTube playlist. I may record one last video of the final installer sometime soon. πŸ˜‰

Phew! That certainly was a long post, now was it? That’s OK though, as I’ve given a comprehensive update on the current state of this blog and my future plans. 8) Now that I’ve finished this post, I think I’ll go work on another one for later publishing. I like to plan out my content, if you didn’t know that already. πŸ˜›

-le717

One thought on “The future is bright for Triangle Land

Triangular Reactions

