CRTC – Website v1.3

And I thought I was done with this experiment. ๐Ÿ˜›

For a grand total of five days in the last month (January and February 2014), I greatly updated the CRTC – Website. After Stopsecret so bluntly stated version 1.0 was ugly (gee, thanks ๐Ÿ˜› ), I have slowly updated it with both visual and programming improvements. While the previous updates were mostly minor, this time around I’ve made the most changes since I created it on October 17, 2013.

Site note: why do I assign version numbers to a website? Websites are updated all the time. Even the changes I have made are immediately live. I guess that question has no answer. ๐Ÿ˜›

So, what has changed in CRTC – Website version 1.3? The short answer is “a lot”, while the long answer is an unordered list. ๐Ÿ˜›

  • I minified the CSS Browser Selector library I am using, since a minified version is not provided.
  • Some Webkit (Chrome, Safari, Opera) rendering errors were fixed.
  • I changed and/or update nearly all the id and class selectors. Some could be done better (#numof1label), and a few were simply plain silly (#errmessage ?)
  • Major CSS (hence styling) updates, including importing a font from Google (happy now, Stopsecret? :P), more subtle way of displaying the lone error message, and overall look. If you go to the site now, you will find some obvious changes, hopefully for the better.
  • Major JavaScript updates, including but but not limited to
    • Adding the "use strict"; directive to all functions
    • Replacing document.getElementById() with document.querySelector()
    • Better and more efficient use of variables

    Notice that not once have I mentioned the use of jQuery in CRTC. While there is nothing wrong with jQuery (I use it extensively in other projects), I have intentionally not used it in CRTC. Why? Part of the reason could be from how I did not use jQuery when I wrote this and I want to leave it that way, but also out of wanting to do things without an external yet immensely helpful library, simply plain vanilla JavaScript. You can understand that, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Changed all input fields type to number. This makes the experience better on mobile devices by bringing up a numeric keyboard rather than the full alphanumeric one. This also gives a better idea of what should be entered.
  • I replaced the official “Fork Me on GitHub” ribbons with a responsive CSS version from http://codepo8.github.io/css-fork-on-github-ribbon.

With this update, I may take Stopsecret’s advice and advertise this on Blender Nation or somewhere like that. Sure, it is quite inaccurate and is only an approximation, but who knows, someone may find this useful. ๐Ÿ™‚

If you forgot where CRTC – Website is located, you will find a large link after this salutation. ๐Ÿ˜›

-le717

http://le717.github.io/CRTC

2 thoughts on “CRTC – Website v1.3

  1. LOL ๐Ÿ˜› Seriously dude, you should get this out there, I’d be happy to reblog/advertise on my website too if you wanted. I bet the Blender people would like this, and hey, it could get you some traffic to your website, too! (just add a back link on the CRTC ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    1. So, does it pass your ugly meter now? ๐Ÿ˜› I’ll try to submit an article to Blender Nation this week. If you want to advertise, go right ahead. Be sure to mention 1. it is just an approximation, and 2. it is open-source on GitHub, so anyone could submit changes if they want. It looks good on mobile devices too. Full details are in the readme. I would suggest playing with it before writing to get an idea on how it works. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I may make a few changes (such as removing the CSS Selector library and design tweaks you may catch as a designer and artist), but that should not stop anything. I’ve had a link back to here since it was launched. It is my name at the bottom of the page. Maybe I need to make it bigger?

Triangular Reactions

