There are lost souls that need the Lord

In church yesterday (February 23, 2014), the pastor preached on Matthew 9:1-8, when Jesus forgave a paralytic man then healed him of his crippledness. The takeaway was that while God heals and is the Great Physician, He is more concerned about the lost and dying souls who are going to hell because they do not know Jesus as their personal Lord and Savior. At the end of the sermon he played the following song, “Tears of the Saints” by the contemporary band Leeland. You may have heard it before. While you may not understand all the lyrics the powerful message is clear: there are lost, hurting, dying souls that need to know the Lord, and we as Christians it is our responsibility to draw them to Jesus through the power of the Holy Spirit.

Only part way through the song the Holy Spirit was moving and touching the people. I myself was crying, something I seldom do at church (I simply not one to cry worship). I simply feel like I need to post the song here. You may know someone who needs the Lord, a friend, family member, neighbor. I want to tell you to believe that it will happen. However, we cannot say to ourselves “I can reach out later.” No! As the song says “This is an emergency!” None of is know how long we have here on this earth. The Lord Jesus Christ may return before we die or we may die first. Each of us have an allotted time here, time we must use to the fullest extent to perform the task God has given us, known as The Great Commission:

Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,  teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen. (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

The fact we have so little time here is emphasized when you look around and see people who die every day. That same afternoon, an older lady in the church had a stroke and feel, and is currently in the hospital. She may not make it. Understand, the hour is short and the harvest is ripe, ready for gathering! It has been said you may be the only Bible someone may ever see, and that is 100% true. True Christians will be different from this world. They will be a reflection of God. They will cause others to wonder how they are so happy and different, and the sinner will want what they have. Even if you never get the chance to witness to someone or simply tell them “I am praying for you”, your actions both online in the world speak for you. Your actions can cause someone to come to  know the Lord. Do not wait to pray, do not consider acting or participating in ungodly actions. How you are perceived may be enough to win someone to Christ! Remember, time is fleeting, this is an emergency!

This post may seem a bit scattered but it is what it is. I simply felt impressed to write it, to encourage you to continue on your Christian journey and continue fulfilling The Great Commission, but also as a reminder that time is short, life is but a speck in time, that this truly this is an emergency! There are souls we must win, or as the song says “Father, we will lead them home”, home to You in heaven, to spend eternity with You in Your glories forever.

This is an emergency!

2 thoughts on “There are lost souls that need the Lord

  1. Hey Le,
    I was thinking about this post, but I believe that God doesn’t punish people for what they have done. I am a Christian myself, but I don’t think everyone should believe in God if they don’t want. I think the best way to do good is just to help people in their lives here on earth. Sorry if I offended you and your ideas, but this is my opinion about it 🙂
    Thanks, hope you understand my opinion.

    1. That was not my point. I am simply saying there are people who do not know God and we as Christians should try to reach them. Oh no, we are not to force people to believe, and He does not either. God has given us a free will. However, God does want us to reach them, for wants none of His creation to enter hell. It is their choice to believe, but it is our job to reach them even if they choose not to believe.

      You have not offended me, Brick. I see nothing in your post that offends me. I’m sorry if I have offended you though.

Triangular Reactions

