Triangle Land refresh & the future

I think I link this song every time I post about my future plans. Whatever, I like this song. šŸ˜›

P.S. If you are reading this on WordPress.com, you already know the big changes, but if you are reading any other way, you will need to come to my site. šŸ˜‰

As my blog title has given away, I have refreshed my site theme, this time going for Sorbet. I had used my previous theme since April 2013, and it was time for a refresh. Hopefully you like it, and I will be tweaking stuff in the coming weeks. šŸ™‚

Now for the future plans stuff. šŸ˜€

  • To start, I am nearing graduation. Spring 2015 semester starts in January, and after that I only have Summer semester, which ends in August 2015. After that, I will be moving into my parent’s basement and spending my day coding random software in the dark into the wee hours of the night, and only coming up for fresh air. šŸ˜› Nah, I’ll be getting a job and all that jazz. šŸ˜‰ I’m both excited and nervous. šŸ˜€
  • I applied for the GitHub Student Pack, and once it is approved I will have my own server space and domain name. While initial plans are small, I am contemplating transferring my site here to a Jekyll-powered site. While I like WordPress.com, it is a bit limiting in terms of what all I can change and do, none of which are an issue with a self-hosted blog. However, there are some barriers to switching.
    1. All my traffic currently directs to here. While this is not too big of a deal, initially my traffic will still come here, and since there is no way for me to set up some automatic redirects for my content, I’ll have to spread the word and put up notices pointing to the new location. I would not be taking this site down, but the traffic hit will be substantial to begin with.
    2. I lose comments on my posts. Comments are a big deal for me. They allow my readers to interact with me, and I with them. Jekyll has no way to natively support comments, and I am opposed to using the Disqus comment system or a forum. I have thrown around some high-level ideas for a comment system, including an almost 100% JavaScript system, but I have not worked out any details.

    Now, I could already switch to a Jekyll-powered blog if I used GitHub Pages, and I already have the GHP annex set up, so all I would need to do is migrate my content, but I have chosen not to do so because there is absolutely no way to support any self-hosted comment system on there, so that has prohibited me from making a switch already.

    Remember, I have not said I am going to be moving from here, my home of three years, but the thought has entered my mind. For now, though, you will find me right here. šŸ™‚

  • As always, plenty of tutorials will be written in the coming year. I still have to write that Python/JavaScript combination tutorial, but one step at a time. I am really hoping I can finally finish updating my LDD to POV-Ray tutorial. Believe me, that will be a moment when I accomplish that task. šŸ˜€
  • Naturally, I plan on expanding my programming knowledge and abilities. I have actually joined the local SkillsUSA chapter, and will be participating in the Computer Programming competition in March, and in order for me to do that, I need to learn how to create good PyQt GUIs before then. šŸ˜› I am also taking a PHP class in a few weeks (the start of the Spring 2015 semester), so I will learning that language.

    https://twitter.com/abt_programming/status/544575304908681216

  • I seriously had a fourth point here, but I completely forgot it while drafting this post. Oh well. šŸ˜›

This is the end of this short forward-facing blog post about me and Triangle Land. Here’s to all 2015 holds for me, you, and everyone else. šŸ˜€
-le717

One thought on “Triangle Land refresh & the future

Triangular Reactions

